Lincoln-Way East honors outstanding students at Induction Night
Thursday, March 16, 2017

On Tuesday, March 14, 2017, students, families, faculty, and staff gathered in the Lincoln-Way East auditorium to celebrate outstanding academic accomplishments for Induction Night. To begin the event, Principal Dr. Sharon Michalak introduced students Destiny Hennings, Ryan Murphy, Glenn Harris, Brock Salgado, Zachary Martin, Ryan Braun, and Barb Lazo to lead the Pledge of Allegiance. She then introduced Board of Education members Dee Molinare and Ron Lullo, as well as the administrative staff: Associate Principal Dr. Mark Cohen, Associate Principal Mr. Joseph Skarbek and Director of P.P.S: Ms. Karen Murphy.

“We are honored to be here tonight to pay tribute to our students who have met the requirements to become members of our honor societies,” said Dr. Michalak. She then introduced the keynote speaker, social science teacher Britt Christensen.

Christensen congratulated the Griffins and also recognized parents and guardians for their role in student success. She discussed the pillars of Lincoln-Way East—Effort, Attitude, Spirit and Teamwork—and how she was consistently impressed by the students “who embody these four pillars every day.” She said, “While our students at East are very strong and extremely intelligent, it is the potential I see in the hallways every day that I find so motivating and exciting…This year, many of us could have entered the school year with a negative attitude or fearful of the future. Instead, the Lincoln-Way East Griffins walked through the front doors the first day of school ready to face new challenges and make new memories together.“

Over 700 Griffins qualified to be recognized on Induction Night. Students walked across stage to be congratulated by board members, faculty and staff for their induction into Mu Alpha Theta, Pi Sigma Pi, Science Honor Society, Société Honoraire de Français, Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica, Delta Epsilon Phi, and National Chinese Honor Society.

Among those honored were 43 Summa Cum Laude students. Summa Cum Laude status indicates that a student has earned a grade point average (GPA) of 5.0 or higher after seven semesters. The students who achieved Summa Cum Laude status are: Julia Bortscheller, Nicholas Brattoli, Nathan Briese, Sabrina Corsetti, Edward Dell, Sabrina Dobrovits, Lindsey Doody, Kristen Ferracuti, Michael Gaertig, Bianca Galassini, Alex Garcia, Mary Gorski, Victoria Green, Noor Hasan, Jessica Helwig, Ciara Hughes, Katarzyna Jelonek, Taylor Johnson, Colin Kavanaugh, Ryan Lauciello, Laura Lewis, Timothy Lutz, Kelsey McInturff, Kiley Meade, Michaela Mitchell, Ryan Murphy, Dylan Murphy, Samuel Passarelli, Raj Patel, Nikhil Piska, Nicholas Piunti, Allison Plourde, Stephanie Provis, Thomas Scott, Ryan Siggins, Hunter Sweeney, Kathan Thomas, Sarah Weithers, Katherine Weithers, David Werner, Jake West, Mengyue Zhao and Joanna Zobak.

Students were then invited to take the Induction Oath, promising to carry on the legacy of the four pillars of the East tradition. At the conclusion of the ceremony, Dr. Michalak invited parents and students to join staff for refreshments in the cafeteria.