Lincoln-Way cadets earn "Cadet of the Quarter" title
Wednesday, March 15, 2017

On March 2, 2017, the AFJROTC board met from 3:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m. to score cadet candidates for “Cadet of the Quarter.”

Cadet of the Quarter recognizes cadets who have excelled in the AFJROTC program. After students are nominated, they complete a nominee package questionnaire—worth a maximum of 40 points—and then meet the board in person for another possible 60 points. The nominee package questionnaire asks the cadets eight questions pertaining to their involvement in AFJROTC, the school, the community, and demonstration of leadership skills. Upon completion, the cadets turn in the questionnaire and meet with the board. Cadets who meet the board are issued study guides that will help them prepare for potential questions from board members.

The board is chaired by the cadet group commander. The board members consist of the cadet deputy group commander and three cadet squadron members. These cadets are Teresa Kozak, Kyra Baltas, Jared Bachman, Dustin Haven, and Elizabeth Ihrke, and are referred to as “The Top Five.” The board evaluates the applicants through an inspection of their uniform, a drill command performance, and a series of questions. Once the scoring is complete, the board recommends a winner in each category (based on the cadet’s year in AFJROTC) to Colonel George Ramey.

“The Cadet of the Quarter is an extremely competitive competition,” says Colonel Ramey. “Cadets are nominated based on stand-out performance from their peers. It’s a competition between the best of the best.”

Winners of the competition were announced on Saturday, March 11, 2017. The winners for Cadet of the Quarter by year in AFJROTC are:
1. Damian Bahena
2. Jessica Sumrow
3. Patrick Murphy
4. Brett Rainbolt

All winners will have their official unit photo displayed and each will receive the Superior Performance Ribbon at the semester awards ceremony.