Lincoln-Way Students Earn National Merit Recognition
Monday, September 28, 2015

Lincoln-Way Central student Abigail Gorecki and Lincoln-Way West student Dario Panici were named semi-finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program an academic achievement earned by less than one percent of high school students.

A total of 28 Lincoln-Way High School students received commended status from the National Merit Scholarship Program.

Congratulations to these Lincoln-Way students for putting in the work that earned them this prestigious national recognition, said Superintendent Dr. R. Scott Tingley. This scholastic accomplishment is a true mark of success on their high school transcripts.

Established in 1955, the National Merit Scholarship Program is a competition for academic recognition and college scholarships. The program uses a variety of factors to evaluate students including test scores, academic record, written recommendations, student activities, leadership skills and a written essay. Recognition in the program opens the doors to significant college savings for students.

Commended students from Lincoln-Way Central include Maxwell Boyle, Nathan Chianelli, Ryan Dauzvardis, Derek Jones and Kevin Triner. East commended students include Nell Borys, Mia DeTella, Sarah Habib, Abigail Hasson, Claire Juracka, Jake Juracka, Bailey Leavy, Austin Pearson, Kyle Plourde, Nathan VanWyhe, Kate Wardenburg and Kaylee Williams. North commended students include Hannah Goss, Alex Greer, Carly Marchal, Clare Maylone, and Ashley Pop. West commended students include Rachel Czaja, Olivia DeGroot, Clara Leo, Nichole Medeisis, Julia Monti and Rachel Singh.