Lincoln-Way North Honors Top Ten Academic Students
Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Lincoln-Way North welcomed more than 120 parents, students and staff to a special Breakfast with the Principal event today to honor the schools Top Ten academic students.

Congratulations to our Top Ten students for their discipline and commitment to academics which landed them in Norths Top Ten, said Dr. Cohen. This is an outstanding academic achievement.

Entertainment for the breakfast was provided by Julianna Borgia, Miranda Gonzalez, Natalie Parsons, Lauren Raimbault, Elyse Skolek, Olivia Heppeler, Grace Ingram, Minnie Manson, Vicky Nyder and Matt Fritsch.

Dr. Cohen introduced each student and highlighted their involvement in athletics, music and extra-curricular programs at North as well as their academic accomplishments.

Students introduced their parents and Dr. Cohen shared the college and career goals of the Class of 2016 seniors.

Students expressed an interest to pursue fields in art, biochemistry, commercial music, engineering, fashion design, international law, and the medical field, among other career paths.

Dr. Cohen also provided a presentation about the importance of every high school student taking an Advanced Placement course and exam.

Advanced Placement success stands out in the college admission process, allows students to earn college credit, and provides significant financial savings in college, Dr. Cohen said. Students also receive increased scholarship opportunities and pick up important time management skills that will be crucial in college.

Dr. Cohen highlighted that Lincoln-Way North had 77 AP Scholars in 2015, including six national AP Scholars.

Every year, Lincoln-Way Community High School District 210's principals invite parents into the schools to meet the staff, hear information about the district and school programs and have their questions answered.

Norths top academic students from the sophomore, junior, and senior classes are:

Class of 2016 Kayli E. Benak, Justin Corp, Sinead M. Flynn, Allison P. Gerk, Hannah E. Goss, Alexander W. Greer, Rebecca S. Lam, Carly A. Marchal, Clare F. Maylone and Ashley N. Popp.

Class of 2017 Nicholas J. Brattoli, Bianca M. Galassini, Mary E. Gorski, Jessica M. Helwig, Katarzyna A. Jelonek, George D. Lang, Kelsey F. McInturff, Ryan Murphy, Thomas Scott, and Joanna M. Zobak.

Class of 2018 Grace M. Babcock, Hallie E. Butterfield, Ranya M. Darwish, John J. Dillon, Taylor A. Doyle, Sara E. Glawe, Sydney M. Koehne, Hannah Laverty, Carlie A. Parrish, and Tara N. Tischer.