Lincoln-Way Central Hosts Special Event to Honor Top 15 Students
Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Nearly 200 students and parents attended Lincoln-Way Centrals annual Breakfast with the Principal event to honor the schools top academic students.

Lincoln-Way Central Principal Dr. Steve Provis holds the event to recognize the top 15 students in the sophomore, junior, and senior class. Each student has a grade point average above 4.0.

As guests arrived, a string quartet performed. Students in the quartet, who are also among the top 15 academically, included Jennifer Perkne, Peyton Nielsen, Kelly Newton and Sean Dennelly.

These students worked exceptionally hard to make it among the schools top 15 academically, said Provis. They are the best of the best academically and they are each highly involved in school activities and community organizations.

In addition to earning a high grade point average, students are involved in sports, music, Scholastic Bowl, Mathletes, ROTC, Interact Club, Art Club, and other activities, Provis said. Many also have perfect attendance.

Parents, you are the difference makers and the reason they are on this stage, Provis said. Thank you for your support and guidance; I know you are each extremely proud.

Parents also heard a presentation from Centrals Associate Principal Dr. Beth McNamara about the importance of Advanced Placement courses and testing including college admissions, college credit and college tuition savings.

Our Advanced Placement courses are the most rigorous and demanding classes we offer at Lincoln-Way and the AP test is the primary avenue to obtain college credit at the high school level, McNamara said.

McNamara also outlined a new state law in Illinois that requires universities to give some type of credit for AP exam scores of 3 or higher.

Our AP teachers set the bar high and they also go above and beyond to help students succeed on AP exams, McNamara said.

The Top 15 students in the senior class of 2016 are: Devin Carroll, Nathan Chianelli, Matthew Fleckenstein, Kaitlyn Forsythe, Abigail Gorecki, Derek Jones, Michael Kulinski, Rachel McDade, Jenna Meyers, Kyle Nolan, Aaron Pachol, Kailey Smith, Kevin Triner, Allison Wesel, Thomas Wisinski, and Justin Yurkanin.

The Top 15 students in the junior class of 2017 are: Micaela Beck, Jessica Bettridge, Liana Chidichimo, Sean Curran, Carlos Ferran-Heredia, Michael Gentry, Sawyer Hobbs, Aleksandra Katilius, Riley McLaughlin, Michael Mikolajczak, Matthew Murphy, Kelly Newton, Peyton Nielsen, Jennifer Perkne and Madison Smith.

The top 15 students in the sophomore class of 2018 are: Brandon Bennitt, Dana Boucher, Jessica Day, Sean Dennelly, Zachary Dundek, Autumn Fritz, Kate Honan, Erin Kay, Alexandria Krupske, Angleo Minetti, Emily Parker, Zoe Richardson, Abigail Sutter, Sara Swanberg, Melissa Wilson and Gretchen Zirgaitis.

Every year, Lincoln-Way High School District 210 principals invite parents to the schools to meet with staff, hear current information about school programs, and answer questions the parents have about school procedures and planning for their child's future education.

Lincoln-Way West will host a breakfast meeting on September 9, Lincoln-Way East on September 16, and Lincoln-Way North on September 23.