L-W Central Social Science Department names Student of the Year
Tuesday, May 26, 2015

The Lincoln-Way Central High School Social Science Department named its annual Student of the Year days before the 2014-2015 school year was finished.

Abbie Orr, senior, was named by the teachers in the department as the Class of 2015 Social Science Student of the Year.

I am very honored, said Orr. It is nice to be recognized for my accomplishments in the department.

Abbie noted her favorite history to study and learn about is 20th Century American history. She plans on majoring in political science in college.

Each year for the past eight years, the teachers in the Social Science Department have chosen a student we feel we want to represent this department- a student who loves history and always wants to learn more, stated Marty Dykas, department chair.

The purpose of the award is to recognize students who exemplify what the Social Science Department stands for: integrity, hard work, fun, and the love of history, said Dykas.

Abbie has taken 12 out of a possible 14 social science classes. She is a passionate reader and passionate about history, added Dykas.

Each teacher can nominate a student. Four students were nominated including: David Vice nominated by Matt Robbins and Brian Holba; Scott Storiz , nominated by Colin Hopper; Madison Brown, nominated by Matt Bowden; and Abbie was nominated by Tom Finnegan.

Each student nominated receives a book that was chosen for them by the teacher that nominated him/her.

The tradition of naming a Social Science Department Student of the Year began in 2007. Past student recipients are: Nicholas Hall, Nick Rossi, Kyle Eldridge, Amanda Swartz, Joshua Poirier, Alena Pacheco and Jenna Jankowski.