Lincoln-Way Mathletes Earn Multiple Wins at State
Thursday, May 14, 2015

Dozens of students from each of Lincoln-Ways four high schools competed in the state finals for Mathletes on May 2nd at the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana. Students earned multiple wins across several categories.

Lincoln-Way East students Bailey Leavy and Raj Patel placed third in the state out of 32 teams in the Probability Oral Competition.

From Lincoln-Way West, the Probability Demonstration team of Olivia DeGroot and Dario Panici finished fourth in state.

The Lincoln-Way Central Mathletes competed and placed 15th out of 61 in Division 3AA with 436 points.

From Lincoln-Way North High School, oralists Robbie Harrington and Patrick McGuire received a score of 26 out of 50. Ryan Murphys Individual Geometry score was 12 out of 40 placing 90th overall. Freshman Allison Hefners Individual Algebra score was 12 out of 40.

The Knights performed well in two areas of competition. They placed ninth in the Calculator competition with seniors John Christel and Marc Veihl, junior Derek Jones, sophomore Sam Schletz and freshman Sean Dennelly. They placed ninth in Pre-Calculus with seniors Pat Burke, John Christel, Maddie McLaughlin, Priya Patel, Marc Veihl, and Allison White.

We all came to state to work hard and have fun too, said Mathlete Vice President Nathan Chianelli. Im really proud of my teammates for placing well at state and Im looking forward to next year.

Additional Lincoln-Way Central Mathletes who competed at state were: seniors Vinnie DeBono, Jacob Fazzini, Maggie Gonzalez, Brandon Ross, Joey Yurkanin; juniors Nathan Chianelli, Matt Fleckenstein, Ronnie Pacheco, Aaron Pachol, Justin Silberman, and Justin Yurkanin; sophomores Jessica Bettridge, Liana Chidichimo, Carlos Ferran-Heredia, Michael Gentry, Sawyer Hobbs, Matt Klock, Matt Murphy, Bailey Tincher, and Tommy Zivat; and freshmen Codi Cabay, Adam Ceh, Drew Daletski, Sean Dennelly, Zak Dundek, Michelle Kaczmarek, Lexie Krupske, Luke Laschober, Taylor Lenburg, Emily Parker, Paige Soth, and Ben Zuraitis.

Additional Lincoln-Way East students competed at state in the following categories: Algebra I - Nathan Co, Sabrina Corsetti, Nick Geopo, Garrett McCrea, Lucas Nienhouse and Julia Roessler; Geometery - Kristen Ferracuti, Raj Patel, Mike Piunti, Nicky Piunti, Jake West, and Daniel Zhao; Algebra 2 - Ben Christensen, Taylor Johnson, Christine Kettmann, Anthony Perry, Sahil Shah, and Nate Van Wyhe; Pre-calculus - Nick Cesario, Andrew Culver, Marnie Ferguson, Anant Joshi, Natalie McCray, and Brianna McKenna; FS 8 Person Team - Nathan Co, Sabrina Corsetti, Nick Geopo, Lucas Nienhouse, Weston Dell, Kristen Ferracuti, Raj Patel, and Jake West; JS 8 PERSON TEAM - Doug Barkauski, Jay Lao, Bailey Leavy, Sahil Shah, Andrew Culver, Anant Joshi, Natalie McCray, and Brianna McKenna.

Additional Lincoln-Way East teams included: Calculator Team - Julia Roessler,
Mike Piunti, Nick Manka, Nick Cesario, and Marnie Ferguson; FS 2 Person Team - Sabrina Corsetti and Daniel Zhao; JS 2 person team - Anant Joshi and
Nate Van Wyhe; FS Relay Team 1 - Nathan Co, Lucas Nienhouse, Kristen Ferracuti, and Nicky Piunti; FS Relay Team 2 - Zach Martin, Garrett McCrea, Luis Aragon, and Laura Lewis; JS Relay Team 1 - Taylor Johnson, Anthony Perry, Andrew Culver, and Marnie Ferguson; and JS Relay Team 2 - Ben Christensen, Sahil Shah, Nick Cesario, and Brianna McKenna

Students competing from Lincoln-Way West were Kevin Beallis, John Stagner, Bobby Valiska, Bill Laitar, Sarah Lehmann, Christian Panici, Hannah Slater, Brett Studer, Sydney Valiska, Dan McGrory, Julia Monti, Steven Lotz, Ray Muro Barrios, Miranda St. Amour and Brandon Voss.