L-W North celebrates Senior Scholarship Night
Friday, May 8, 2015

More than $74,800 in academic scholarships were awarded to 80 Lincoln-Way North High School seniors this week.

The 109 scholarships, which were offered by community members, organizations, and businesses were presented during a Scholarship Awards Night ceremony at the school May 7.

We are very fortunate to be in a community that is committed to our students, stated Dr. Mark Cohen, principal of Lincoln-Way North.

The evening began with a buffet dinner for the students, their families and representatives of the scholarship organizations catered by Parmesans Restaurant of Frankfort and sponsored by Old Second Bank, LincolnWay Community Bank and Town Center Bank.

String musicians from North with members of the Lincoln-Way Youth Strings provided the background music during dinner with over 500 people attending.

Lincoln-Way North is grateful for the generosity of the community organizations and families, said Karen Murphy, Pupil Personnel Services Director for Lincoln-Way North. With the escalation of college costs, these awards assist students continuing their education in many ways. Thank you for all the fundraising efforts and contributions to give back to the young adults in your community.

Among those honored at the senior Scholarship Night were the schools 2015 Valedictorian David Arnold and Salutatorian Alison DeBruyn. Student Council president Jack McGuire led the Pledge of Allegiance at the start of the scholarship awards program.

Our special thanks and congratulations go out to all of you exceptional students who were recipients of these awards. It is truly an honor to see the outstanding Lincoln-Way North seniors recognized for their accomplishments. It fills us with pride to learn of the prestigious colleges and universities you will be attending in the fall and the rigorous courses of study you have chosen for your future, Dr. R. Scott Tingley, Superintendent, told the seniors at the end of the evening.

Among the 43 businesses, organizations and community members that presented scholarships to 80 students were: Frankfort Car Club; Frankfort Falcons; Frankfort Lions Club; Illinois Philharmonic Orchestra; Frankfort Square Baseball League Alumni; Frankfort Square Park District; Frankfort Square Wildcats Football & Cheerleading; Dr. Lawrence Wyllie; Frankfort Township Republicans; Kiwanis Club of Frankfort; Korean War Veterans; Lincoln-Way Area Chorale; Mokena Chamber of Commerce; Provisur Technologies; Summit Hill SCO; Tingey Park Chamber of Commerce; Tinley Park-Frankfort Rotary Club; Aunt Nancys Childcare; Tinley Park Lions Club; Tinley Park Kiwanis: Village of Tinley Park Community Service Award; 87 M.V.P. Fund; Xplosion Basketball; Frankfort Area Historical Society; Frankfort Chamber of Commerce; Frankfort Area Jaycees; Will County Farm Bureau Foundation, Lincoln-Way High School District 210 Foundation for Educational Excellence; Lincoln-Way Hockey Club; Lincoln-Way North Lifeguard; Lincoln-Way North Athletic Booster Club; Lincoln-Way North Seniors; Lincoln-Way North Science National Honor Society, and Dr. Michael Gardner Commemorative.

Additional memorial scholarships were presented in honor of: Fernando J. Pavon-LULAC; Matt Brashinger; Tom Manheim; Marty Larson; Kevin Broda; Richard Holman; Ellen Davis; Catherine Wiesbrock; George C. Coles; Aldo Fanti; Tommy Fagan Jr.; and Klaus P. Lichtenfeld.