Lincoln-Way Central celebrates Scholarship Night
Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Academic scholarships were presented to Lincoln-Way Central High School students on Tuesday, May 5 during the schools annual Senior Scholarship Night.

More than 660 parents, community members and students gathered in the schools Fine Arts Center for this prestigious event where 160 scholarships totaling more than $75,550 were awarded to 131 graduating seniors.

We thank our community businesses, service groups and individual families who are so generous in their support of scholarships for our students, stated Dr. Steve Provis, principal at Lincoln-Way Central High School. With the high cost of college and trade schools, this effort on the part of our community is appreciated by our students.

The evening began with a buffet dinner catered by Aurelios Restaurant in Frankfort, New Lenox and Mokena and sponsored by Old Second Bank, LincolnWay Community Bank and Town Center Bank.

Lincoln-Way Central music students Jennifer Perkne, Peyton Nielsen and Aidan Piwnicki were members of a string ensemble that provided music during the dinner.

Among those honored at the Senior Scholarship Night were the schools 2015 valedictorian Daniel T. Zolecki and salutatorian Madeline R. McLaughlin.

Our special thanks and congratulations go out to all of you exceptional students who were recipients of these awards. It is truly an honor to see the outstanding Lincoln-Way Central seniors recognized for their accomplishments. It fills us with pride to learn of the prestigious colleges and universities you will be attending in the fall and the rigorous courses of study you have chosen for your future," Superintendent Dr. R. Scott Tingley told the students and their families.

Among the 78 businesses, organizations and community members that presented scholarships to the 131 students were: American Legion New Lenox Tom E. Hartung Post 1977 Citizenship Award; Aunt Nancys Early Childhood Development; Aurelios Pizza; Curtain Call Theatre; Dahlquist & Lutzow Architects, LTD; Dresden Nuclear Generating Station-Future Leaders; Dresden Nuclear Generating Station-Diversity Council; Dr. Lawrence A. Wyllie; First Bank of Manhattan Agricultural; Frankfort Car Club; Harry E. Anderson VFW Post 9545; Ladies & Mens Auxiliary VFW Post 9545; Hedges Clinic; Illinois Philharmonic Orchestra; Joliet Junior College Foundation; Kevin Molloy State Farm Insurance Good Neighbor Award; Korean War Veterans Association; Laraway Lanes Bowling; Lincoln-Way Area Business Womens Club; Lincoln-Way Area Chorale; LincolnWay Community Bank; Xplosion Basketball; Manhattan Chamber of Commerce; Manhattan PTO; Manhattan Womans Club; Marquette Bank; New Lenox Chamber of Commerce; New Lenox Lions Club; New Lenox PTO; New Lenox Rotary Club; New Lenox Youth Football Association Alumni; Peace Lutheran Church; Sharon Peterson Nursing; Provisur Technologies; Stacy Holland Journalism; Town Center Bank; and the Will County Farm Bureau Foundation.

Additional memorial scholarships were presented in honor of: Brian Albano; Walt Bliss; Robert Joshua Brisky; Ryan Burke; Paul Farkas; John E. and Hazel W. Francis; Thomas Manheim; Frank Goetschel; Elsie Hearns; Jonathan High; Della Hussey; Ellen Kurns & Margaret Kaiser; Marty Larson; Gary Kuchta; Scott Lashmet; Robert Taylor; Todd Burke; David S. McKay; Ernie Niznik; Doug Phalen; Lee. F. Rosenquist; Tommy Schuman; Chase Niemeier; Reverend William & Ruth Johnson; Thomas H. & Ruth Loverude; Art Nelson; and Bernadine Warning.

Also presenting scholarships Tuesday were the: Class of 1980; the Class of 1982; the Class of 1983; IL-961 Air Force JROTC; Lincoln-Way Central Athletic Boosters; Lincoln-Way Central Bookstore; Lincoln-Way Central Central Perk; Lincoln-Way Central Lifeguard; Lincoln-Way Central National Honor Society; Lincoln-Way Central Student Council; Lincoln-Way District Hockey; Lincoln-Way Foundation for Educational Excellence; and Lincoln-Way Scholarship Fund.

Our community is very committed to our students, said Provis. I know the students value the time and energy it takes to raise the scholarship money the community groups provide.