Lincoln-Way East Students Honored at Griffin Recognition Night
Friday, May 1, 2015

On Tuesday, Lincoln-Way East hosted Griffin Recognition Night to honor students for excellence in academics and extra-curricular activities. Nearly 1,800 recognitions were given across a wide variety of accomplishments.

Academic recognition included 653 honor roll students, 782 high honor roll students, 85 Illinois State Scholars, 25 PSAE All-Stars, one National Achievement Finalist, one National Achievement Outstanding Participant, five National Merit Commended Scholars, two National Merit Finalists, one National Hispanic Scholar, 60 top fifteen students, and seven Class of 2015 students with perfect attendance.

Special recognition was given to the students of the year representing each department, including: Elliott Adams (ART), Steven Lavin (Agriculture), Joshua Falcone (Business & Technology), Mycauley Scott-Stirn (Career & Tech-Industrial), Sara Groth (English), Jessica Rajca (Family & Consumer Science), Marnie Ferguson (Math), Jessica Sheetz (Music), Cydney Joseph (Physical Education), Blake Bonner (Reading), Valentine Lang (Science), Tim Vyhnanek (Social Science), Nicholas Drewes (Special Services), and Michael Enright (World Languages).

Thirty-three students were recognized as part of SWSC Activities All-Conference; 28 students were recognized as SWSC All-Academic Award Winners and 92 as All-Academic Athletic Awards. Fifteen students were honored for state recognition award winners in band, choir, Future Business Leaders of America and Skills USA.

Griffin Recognition Night is a great end of year celebration to recognize our students high level of academic achievement, said Lincoln-Way East Principal Dr. Sharon Michalak.