Lincoln-Way Students Honored for Achievement in National Merit Scholarship Program
Friday, February 22, 2019

At their February 21, 2019 meeting, the Board of Education honored individual students for their exceptional scholastic achievements in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. Of the 1.6 million entrants, approximately 50,000 test takers with the highest PSAT/NMSQT Selection Index scores qualify for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

More than two-thirds of the 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. One-third of the 50,000 high scorers are notified that they have qualified as Semifinalists.

“To the parents, thank you for giving your children the support needed to develop the confidence to excel academically and prove that they could compete on the national level,” said Michelle Newswander, PPS Director at Lincoln-Way Central. “Students, we hope that you know how very proud we are of each of you. You are to be commended and congratulated for your academic efforts and achievements. We offer you our best wishes and the hope that being recognized by the National Merit Program will broaden your horizons and encourage you to develop your potential to the fullest.”

Congratulations to the following students on your accomplishments.

Lincoln-Way Central Commended Students
Thomas Cook
Tyler Danielewicz
Alexandra DeBello
Amanda Finn
Gianna Gricus
Jonah Haskins
Justin Lundy
Beau Magro
Julia Martin
James Mountford

Lincoln-Way Central National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars
Julia Martin
James Mountford

Lincoln-Way East Commended Students
Thomas C. Arndt
Jacob J. Heimlich
Dominic M. Vilatte
Jenna A. Yassin
Joseph C. Zobel

Lincoln-Way West Commended Students
Kyle Auchstetter
Kiah Jurgens

Lincoln-Way West Finalist
Oliver Mate

Lincoln-Way West National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholar
Jared Podgorny