Lincoln-Way cadets earn "Cadet of the Quarter" title
Thursday, June 7, 2018

On May 3, 2018, the AFJROTC board met from 3:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m. to score cadet candidates for “Cadet of the Quarter.”

Cadet of the Quarter recognizes cadets who have excelled in the Lincoln-Way AFJROTC program. After students are nominated, they fill out a nominee package questionnaire—worth a maximum of 45 points—and then meet the board in person for another possible 55 points. Cadets who meet the board are issued study guides that will help them prepare for potential questions from board members.

The nominee package questionnaire asks the cadets eight questions pertaining to their involvement in AFJROTC, the school, the community and demonstration of leadership skills.

Upon completion, the cadets submit the questionnaire and meet with the board. The board is chaired by the cadet group or deputy group commander. The board members consist of the cadet deputy group commander and four cadet squadron members. These cadets are Cadet Col Dustin Haven (Board President and unit deputy group commander), Cadet CMSgt Jessica Sumrow, Cadet Capt Arick Hauschild, Cadet 1st Lt Ani Smentek and Cadet SMSgt Aiden Hart, and are referred to as “The Top.” The board evaluates the applicants through an inspection of their uniform, a drill command performance and a series of questions. Once the scoring is complete, the board recommends a winner in each category (based on the cadet’s year in AFJROTC) to Colonel George Ramey.

“The cadets who are nominated to meet the board understand the competition level is extremely high. They are competing against the best of the best.” says Colonel Ramey. “Two of the winners for this board truly didn’t believe they stood a chance of winning when they considered their competitors. The competition is always very close but the winners earned their Cadet of the Quarter title.”

Winners of the competition were announced on Friday, May 4, 2018. The winners by year in AFJROTC are:

1. Madison Kosel: First Year Winner, Lincoln-Way West
2. Lila Altman: Second Year Winner, Lincoln-Way Central
3. Zosia Dauer: Third Year Winner, Lincoln-Way West
4. Patrick Murphy III: Fourth Year Winner, Lincoln-Way West

All winners have their official unit photo displayed and each received the Superior Performance Ribbon at the semester award ceremony.