Lincoln-Way cadets earn "Cadet of the Quarter" title
Friday, March 23, 2018

On March 1, 2018, the AFJROTC board met from 3:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m. to score cadet candidates for “Cadet of the Quarter.”

Cadet of the Quarter recognizes cadets who have excelled in the Lincoln-Way AFJROTC program. After students are nominated, they fill out a nominee package questionnaire—worth a maximum of 45 points—and then meet the board in person for another possible 55 points. Cadets who meet the board are issued study guides that will help them prepare for potential questions from board members.

The nominee package questionnaire asks the cadets eight questions pertaining to their involvement in AFJROTC, the school, the community, and demonstration of leadership skills.

Upon completion, the cadets submit the questionnaire and meet with the board. The board is chaired by the cadet group or senior deputy group commander. The board members consist of the cadet deputy group commander and four cadet squadron members. These cadets are Cadet Col Elizabeth Ihrke (Board President and unit deputy group commander), Cadet CMSgt Jessica Sumrow, Cadet Capt Arick Hauschild, Cadet 1st Lt Ani Smentek and Cadet SMSgt Aiden Hart, and are referred to as “The Top.” The board evaluates the applicants through an inspection of their uniform, a drill command performance, and a series of questions. Once the scoring is complete, the board recommends a winner in each category (based on the cadet’s year in AFJROTC) to Colonel George Ramey.

“The cadets who are nominated to meet the board have been selected by peer leaders and instructors to represent the very best for each year in the program,” says Colonel Ramey. “The cadet board members do a remarkable job of recommending the cadet they believe should be the winner in each category. Although the board is very competitive, the winners have earned their selections.”

Winners of the competition were announced on Monday, March 5, 2018. The winners by year in AFJROTC are:

1. Arwen Rolinitis: First Year Winner
2. Abigail Knippel: Second Year Winner
3. Oliver Mate: Third Year Winner
4. Angelo Minetti: Fourth Year Winner

All winners will have their official unit photo displayed and each will receive the Superior Performance Ribbon at the semester awards ceremony.